5 up for prestigious Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of the Year award

The Boxing Writers Association of America has finalized the ballot for its 2017 awards in eight categories, the organization announced on Tuesday. The nominees for the organization's most prestigious award, the Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of the Year award, are:

  • Terence Crawford (32-0, 23 KOs), the former lightweight world champion, who became the undisputed junior welterweight world champion when he unified his two title belts with the two held by then-undefeated Julius Indongo. Crawford, who won the Sugar Ray Robinson award in 2014, knocked Indongo out in the third round to become only the third undisputed world champion of the four-belt era.

  • Mikey Garcia (37-0, 30 KOs), who had won world titles at featherweight and junior lightweight, moved up to lightweight and scored a brutal third-round knockout of then-unbeaten Dejan Zlaticanin to claim a lightweight world title and then moved up to junior welterweight to handily outpoint former titlist Adrien Broner.

  • British star Anthony Joshua (20-0, 20 KOs) made two heavyweight world title defenses by knockout, but the big one came when he stopped former long-reigning unified world champion Wladimir Klitschko to keep the belt and claim a vacant title in an epic battle that captivated the United Kingdom.

  • Vasiliy Lomachenko (10-1, 8 KOs), the two-time Olympic gold medalist from Ukraine, ascended to No. 1 on some pound-for-pound lists, including ESPN's poll, by retaining his junior lightweight world title three times. He made all three opponents quit, including fellow pound-for-pound-ranked junior featherweight world titlist Guillermo Rigondeaux in the first professional fight between two-time Olympic gold medal winners.

  • Srisaket Sor Rungvisai (43-4-1, 39 KOs), of Thailand, won a disputed decision against then-reigning pound-for-pound king and undefeated four-division champion Roman "Chocolatito" Gonzalez to claim a junior bantamweight world title for the second time, but then he left no doubt when he knocked out Gonzalez in the fourth round of their rematch.

Full members of the BWAA will vote on the awards over the next month, and winners will be announced in February. The winners will be honored at the annual BWAA awards dinner in the spring at a site to be determined.

Nominees for the Muhammad Ali-Joe Frazier Fight of the Year are Joshua-Klitschko; Sor Rungvisai-Gonzalez I; David Benavidez's super middleweight title-winning decision against Ronald Gavril in a wild slugfest; the action-packed super middleweight title unification draw between James DeGale and Badou Jack; and junior lightweight Miguel "Mickey" Roman's scintillating ninth-round knockout of former titlist Orlando Salido.

The nominees for the Eddie Futch Trainer of the Year award are Derrick James, Anatoly Lomachenko, Brian McIntyre, Andre Rozier and 2015 winner Abel Sanchez.

Nominees for the Cus D'Amato Manager of the Year award are Keith Connolly, Frank Espinoza and Egis Klimas. Voters also have the option of voting for no award.

The Sam Taub broadcast award nominees are former longtime HBO executive and "Boxing After Dark" creator Lou DiBella; Showtime Sports executive vice president and general manager Stephen Espinoza; HBO analyst Roy Jones Jr.; Showtime blow-by-blow announcer Mauro Ranallo; and Brian Custer, the "Showtime Championship Boxing" host who has also done blow-by-blow for Premier Boxing Champions events.

The nominees for the Bill Crawford award for courage in overcoming adversity are Main Events promoter Kathy Duva, former featherweight Daniel Franco, trainer Jose Santa Cruz, women's world champion and two-time U.S. Olympic gold medalist Claressa Shields and junior welterweight Samuel Teah.

The Barney Nagler Long and Meritorious Service award nominees are CompuBox founder Bob Canobbio; Dr. Margaret Goodman, a former ringside physician for the Nevada State Athletic Commission and current president of the Voluntary Anti-Doping Association; longtime BWAA event coordinator Gina Andriolo; former New York State Athletic Commissioner and current radio personality Randy Gordon; and John Sheppard, creator of the online boxing record archive BoxRec.

Nominees for the Marvin Kohn Good Guy award are recently retired former heavyweight world champion Wladimir Klitschko; junior welterweight contender Jose Ramirez; Showtime publicist Matt Donovan; longtime publicist Ed Keenan; Bruce Silverglade, the charitable owner of famed Gleason's Gym in Brooklyn, New York; and Tim Smith, who handles publicity for Premier Boxing Champions.

One award winner has already been determined. Michael Rosenthal, the former longtime editor of the Ring magazine and the former Los Angeles Daily News boxing writer, won the Nat Fleischer award for career excellence in boxing journalism. The award is voted on only by past winners.