Anand wins World Rapid Championship


RIYAD (Saudi Arabia) -- Viswanathan Anand beat Russia's Vladimir Fedoseev 2-0 in a blitz tie-break to win the World Rapid Championship in Riyadh.

Anand had earlier been joint leader along with Vladimir Fedoseev and Ian Nepomniachtchi, also of Russia, at 10.5 points from a possible 15. He was unbeaten at the end of fifteen rounds, with six wins and nine draws.

One of those wins came against world No. 1 Magnus Carlsen in the ninth round. Anand, who lost the 2013 World Championship to Carlsen, won in 34 moves.

Ju Wenjun of China won the Women's Rapid Championship.