Chelsea and Tottenham players dominate PFA Team of the Year

The Professional Football Association (PFA) has announced its Team of the Year with Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur players occupying eight of the 11 spots.

The team, voted for by players from all 92 clubs in the English Football League and eight from the Women's Super League, has a familiar feel to it with five of the same players as 2015-16.

Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea, Chelsea midfielder N'Golo Kante -- a Premier League title winner with Leicester City last season -- and Tottenham trio Danny Rose, Dele Alli and Harry Kane all make the final XI for the second season in a row. Another Spurs player, Kyle Walker, is also in the side at right-back.

In addition, Chelsea, who struggled in defence of their title last season but now look odds-on to win this year's trophy, have defensive duo David Luiz and Gary Cahill involved, while Eden Hazard -- the PFA Players' Player of the Year in 2014-15 -- is back in the selection.

Completing the list are two players from Merseyside as the Premier League's top scorer, 24-goal Everton striker Romelu Lukaku, and Liverpool's Sadio Mane take their places in the XI.

There is no place for Manchester United striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic or Arsenal forward Alexis Sanchez, who both made the shortlist for the PFA Players' Player of the Year senior award.

The PFA Premier League Team of the Year (Sponsored by Panini)

Goalkeeper - David De Gea (Manchester United)
Defender - Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur)
Defender - David Luiz (Chelsea)
Defender - Gary Cahill (Chelsea)
Defender - Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur)
Midfielder - Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)
Midfielder - Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
Midfielder - N'Golo Kante (Chelsea)
Midfielder - Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
Forward - Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
Forward - Romelu Lukaku (Everton)