Goalless streak for debutants, Bengaluru FC's clean sheets


The number of days after which an NFL/I-League goal was scored at the Rabindra Sarobar Stadium when Darryl Duffy put Mohun Bagan 1-0 ahead against Shillong Lajong. The last goal scored there was by East Bengal's Omolaja Olalekan, when the eventual NFL champions of the season beat State Bank of Travancore 3-1 on January 27, 2001.


Gouramangi Singh has now scored five goals in NFL/I-League history, with these goals coming for four different teams -- Dempo, Mahindra United, Churchill Brothers and now for DSK Shivajians. His goal in the 2-1 loss defeat to East Bengal on January 14 was his first in nearly seven years, with his last I-League goal scored when Churchill Brothers beat Salgaocar 2-1 in Margao on February 1, 2010.


Champions Bengaluru FC have already come close to matching their tally of clean sheets (3) at home from last season inside the first two matches of the 2016-17 season. The clean sheets last year at the Kanteerava Stadium came against DSK Shivajians, Shillong Lajong and Mumbai FC, with the second of those teams their most recent opposition and the last one their next. Bengaluru FC had four clean sheets at home in 2015-16, while they also maintained four in their inaugural season in 2013-14, when playing their home games at the Bangalore Football Stadium.


By failing to score in the first two games of their debut season in the I-League, Minerva Punjab and Chennai City have taken the tally of teams in NFL/I-League with that dubious distinction up to seven. State Bank of Travancore were the first team which failed to score in their first three matches of the NFL in 1999-2000. Mohammedan Sporting (2003-04), Pune FC (2009-10) and Rangdajied United (2013-14) all notched their first goal in their third match of the league, while DSK Shivajians hold the record for having failed to score in their first four matches on I-League debut last season.


The percentage of goals scored contributed by Bengaluru FC and Mohun Bagan, the teams that have won the last three I-League titles, without conceding a single goal yet. 18 goals have been scored in the 10 matches of the first two rounds, and Bengaluru FC have scored five and Mohun Bagan three of them. Not surprisingly, both these teams also have the joint top scorers in the league this season, with both Udanta Singh (Bengaluru) and Darryl Duffy (Mohun Bagan) scoring their two goals in one game.

With inputs by Gautam Roy, football historian and media manager of East Bengal football club.