Kidambi Srikanth in numbers - Rare No. 1 from India, world's fourth best in Superseries

Kidambi Srikanth became the world No. 1 on 12 April 2018. AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi

On 12 April 2018, Kidambi Srikanth became just the second Indian man after Prakash Padukone to be ranked world No. 1 in badminton. That achievement came on the back of a stellar run in 2017, when Srikanth notched up some big wins. Here's a selection of his best numbers:


Srikanth was just the third Indian to be ranked world No. 1 in badminton after Padukone in 1980 and Saina Nehwal in 2015.


Since the beginning of 2010, Srikanth was only the sixth player to be ranked world No. 1 in men's singles -- the other five being Lee Chong Wei, Lin Dan, Chen Long, Son Wan Ho and Viktor Axelsen.

After Srikanth, the only two players to be ranked No. 1 have been Axelsen and Kento Momota.


Among all the men's singles players who have two or more appearances in a Superseries final, only Momota has a better win-loss record than Srikanth. Momota has a 100 per cent win record, having won all the four finals he has contested. Srikanth has won six of his seven finals for a win percentage of 85.


Number of days that Srikanth stayed the number one before Axelsen replaced him. Axelsen had been the top-ranked player for 28 weeks, from 28 September 2017 to 11 April 2018. After replacing Srikanth, Axelsen had another 23-week reign as the top player. Momota is currently on a 78-week streak as the world's top player.


Exactly one year before he became the best player in the world, Srikanth was ranked 28th after suffering an ankle injury towards the end of 2016.


Number of Superseries titles won by Srikanth -- easily the most by an Indian men's singles player. B Sai Praneeth, who won the Singapore Open in 2017, is the only other Indian man to win a singles Superseries title.


Only three men have won more men's singles Superseries titles than Srikanth's six: Lee Chong Wei (46), Lin Dan (21) and Chen Long (20).

Srikanth is also one of only three men to defeat both Lin Dan and Chen Long in a Superseries final -- the other two being Chen Jin and Lee Chong Wei. Srikanth defeated Lin in the final of the 2014 China Open and Chen in the final of the 2017 Australian Open.


Number of Superseries titles won by Srikanth in 2017. He's the only Indian to win four Superseries titles in a calendar year. Saina is second best with three titles in 2010, while Sindhu's best display too came in 2017, when she won two titles.


Srikanth did not lose a single game in the four Superseries finals he won in 2017. He defeated Kazumasa Sakai, Chen Long, Lee Hyun-Il and Kenta Nishimoto in those matches. His only loss in a Superseries final came against compatriot B Sai Praneeth at the 2017 Singapore Open. That match was the first Superseries final to be contested by two Indians.


Srikanth is one of only four men to win four Superseries singles titles in a year -- the other three being Lin Dan, Lee Chong Wei and Chen Long. Lin won five titles in 2007 and four each in 2009 and 2011. Chen won four titles each in 2012 and 2015. Lee trumps them both though, winning more than four titles every year from 2009 to 2014. He won as many as seven titles in 2010 and 2013, five each in 2009 and 2011 and four each in 2012 and 2014.


Between 2014 and 2017, only two player won more men's singles Superseries titles than Srikanth's six. Lee Chong Wei led the list with 12, while Chen Long had nine titles in the same period.


Srikanth is the only Indian to win the French Open after it became a Superseries event in 2007. He's also one of only two Indians to win the Indonesia Open and Australian Open -- the other being Saina. He's also one of only three Indian to win the China Open and Denmark Open. Saina and Sindhu are the other Indians to win the China Open, while Padukone and Saina are the other Indians to win the Denmark Open.