India to face New Zealand in Tokyo Olympics opener

Arijit Sen/Hindustan Times via Getty Images

The Indian men's and women's hockey teams will open their campaigns against New Zealand and the Netherlands respectively at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics on July 25.

After eight-time champions New Zealand, India will face world number one Australia on July 26, before taking on Spain (July 28), defending champions Argentina (July 30) and hosts Japan (July 31) in Group A.

The women's team, who are also clubbed in Group A, will face Germany on July 27, before meeting Great Britain (July 29), Ireland (July 31) and South Africa (August 1).

The men's and women's gold medal matches will take place on August 6 and 7 respectively.

The Indian men's team, ranked fifth, qualified for the Tokyo Games after beating Russia 11-3 on aggregate in the Olympic qualifiers held in Bhubaneswar earlier this month, while the women, ranked ninth, beat the United Sates 6-5 on aggregate to secure qualification.