Mohun Bagan crowned I-League champions

Baba Diawara celebrates his goal that saw Mohun Bagan beat Aizawl and win the I-League title on March 10. AIFF

NEW DELHI -- The All India Football Federation's executive panel on Tuesday ratified its league committee's recommendations to cancel the remaining 28 matches of the I-League in view of the coronavirus-forced lockdown and declare runaway leaders Mohun Bagan the champions.

Also read:

Mohun Bagan clinch I-League crown with four games to spare

ATK, Bagan confirm merger; new club to compete in ISL 2020-21

The league committee had given its recommendations to the AIFF panel on Saturday.

As per the latest decisions, the 2019-20 season stands concluded and Mohun Bagan have been declared the I-League winners. Apart from the champion's prize, the remaining prize money will be equally divided among the rest of the 10 participating clubs.

However, there will be no relegation and also no individual prize money for the league season.

"All youth leagues in the current season -- the Hero Sub-Junior League, the Hero Junior League, the Hero Elite League and the U-17 Khelo India Girls League -- stay concluded, and will start afresh from 2020-21 season," the AIFF said in a statement.

It also said there was still no certainty of when sporting activities, including football, could be resumed across the country.