ISL 2022-23 playoffs: Top six confirmed

ISL trophy. Pal Pillai/Focus Sports/ ISL

The ninth edition of the Indian Super League is heading for quite the climax, especially with an expanded six-team playoff this season. Mumbai City FC and Hyderabad FC have sealed the top two spots, with ATK Mohun Bagan, Bengaluru FC and Kerala Blasters also in the playoffs but battling for the order in which they finish. Odisha FC confirmed sixth spot after Bengaluru FC beat FC Goa in their last match of the season.

ISL home | Fixtures | Scores | Table | Stats

Mumbai City FC

Current position: 1 (Qualified)

Played: 20 | Points: 46

Remaining fixtures: Nil.

Mumbai have wrapped up playoff qualification and also became the earliest winners of the League Shield. Their loss to Bengaluru also ensured they will not finish the league season as invincibles.

Hyderabad FC

Current position: 2 (Qualified)

Played: 19 | Points: 39

Remaining fixtures: Kerala Blasters FC (A)

Hyderabad have confirmed their playoff spot, and have also confirmed their semifinal spot, with their win over ATK Mohun Bagan ensuring they can't finish below second. It's afforded them the chance to rotate, with a much-changed side losing to Jamshedpur in their most recent game.

Bengaluru FC

Current position: 3 (Qualified)

Played: 20 | Points: 34

Remaining fixtures: Nil.

Incredibly, Bengaluru FC have won their last eight games to complete a remarkable turnaround. Simon Grayson's men have found their scoring boots, and are now the form team in the ISL heading into the playoffs.

ATK Mohun Bagan

Current position: 4 (Qualified)

Played: 19 | Points: 31

Remaining fixtures: East Bengal (A)

ATK Mohun Bagan's crucial 2-1 win over 10-man Kerala Blasters propelled them to third in the table, and a win in the season-ending Kolkata Derby would guarantee them third in the table and home advantage in the playoffs against the sixth-placed side.

Kerala Blasters FC

Current position: 5

Played: 19 | Points: 31 (Qualified)

Remaining fixtures: Hyderabad FC (H).

Kerala Blasters' 2-1 win over Chennaiyin FC all but guaranteed their qualification, but then they suffered a loss against Bengaluru FC. Goa's loss to Chennaiyin confirmed their spot in the top six. Another loss to ATK Mohun Bagan saw them fall to fifth in the table, but they could climb higher should results fall their way.

Odisha FC

Current position: 6

Played: 20 | Points: 30 (Qualified)

Remaining fixtures: Nil.

After a 2-0 loss to Jamshedpur in a match they only needed to draw, Odisha's playoffs fate were not in their hands anymore. Goa, though, couldn't capitalise and their loss to Bengaluru means Odisha have confirmed their sixth place.

FC Goa

Current position: 7 (Eliminated)

Played: 20 | Points: 27

Remaining fixtures: Nil.

Carlos Pena has overseen a late resurgence in form, which has seen Goa climb up the table. But their run was halted by the Mumbai City FC, Chennaiyin last Thursday and then Bengaluru FC a week later.

Chennaiyin FC

Current position: 8 (Eliminated)

Played: 19 | Points: 24

Remaining fixtures: NorthEast United (A)

Thomas Brdaric's side can finish with a maximum of 27 points this season, and even if they do get there, they cannot get past Odisha FC or FC Goa to make the playoffs.

Jamshedpur FC

Current position: 9 (Eliminated)

Played: 20 | Points: 19

Remaining fixtures: Nil.

It's been quite the fall for last season's league shield champions, who have been eliminated from playoff contention. They have nothing but pride, and potentially being spoilers for some higher sides, to play for.

East Bengal FC

Current position: 10 (Eliminiated)

Played: 19 | Points: 19

Remaining fixtures: ATK Mohun Bagan (H)

After a disappointing season again, East Bengal's elimination was confirmed after Odisha's 3-1 win over Hyderabad. The best Stephen Constantine's side can hope to do now is win the Kolkata Derby.

NorthEast United FC

Current position: 11 (Eliminated)

Played: 19 | Points: 5

Remaining fixtures: Chennaiyin FC (A)

Just the one win and two draws this entire season so far for NorthEast. They will finish with the least points by any side in a single ISL season.