Spartak Moscow are Russian Premier League champions for 10th time

Spartak Moscow have won their first Russian Premier League title since 2001 after beating Tom Tomsk 1-0 at the weekend.

Massimo Carrera's side were clear at the top of the table, and were on the brink of being crowned champions after Quincy Promes netted the only goal of the game to condemn Tom Tomsk to relegation.

Spartak did not have to wait long to begin their title celebrations as Zenit St Petersburg, who had been their nearest challengers, lost 1-0 to Terek Grozny on Sunday.

It left Spartak 10 points clear of CSKA Moscow, and 11 ahead of Zenit, with three rounds to go in the Russian season. Promes, with 11 goals, has been their star performer.

It also means Spartak, who won the league for a 10th time, will be seeded in next season's Champions League group stage draw.