FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup: India grouped with Brazil, USA, Morocco

File photo: The Gateway of India illuminated with lights during the Official Emblem Launch of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup. Aparna Jayakumar - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images

Hosts India have been drawn with the United States of America, Morocco and Brazil in Group A of the 2022 FIFA U17 Women's World Cup.

Group B has Germany, Nigeria, Chile, New Zealand
Group C has Spain, Colombia, Mexico, China
Group D has Japan, Tanzania, Canada, France

India's first match will be against the USA on October 11 (Tuesday) at the Kalinga stadium, Bhubaneswar. Their second match will be against Morocco on October 14 (Friday) at the same venue. Their last group stage match against Brazil will be on October 17 (Monday), again at the Kalinga. All of India's matches will kick off at 8 PM. There are two slots for matches to be held on matchdays, 4.30 PM and 8 PM.

The other venues for the World Cup are the Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru stadium in Goa and the DY Patil Stadium at Navi Mumbai. The quarterfinals will be held across these two stadiums.

If India qualify (either as group winner or runner-up), their quarterfinal will be in Navi Mumbai (on 21 October). Both semifinals are scheduled for Goa while the third place match and the final (30 October) will be held in Navi Mumbai.

The defending champions are Spain, who beat Mexico in the final of the 2018 edition. North Korea are the most successful team in tournament history, having won the trophy twice (2008, 2016) and finishing runners-up in 2012. Japan, South Korea and France have each won the title once. The tournament, started in 2008, is held every two years. Accordingly, India were originally selected to host the 2020 edition, but that tournament was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Instead, they were chosen again as hosts of the 2022 edition.

The initial edition, won by Germany, had seen Japan (and now Arsenal) superstar Mana Iwabuchi win the golden ball (awaded to the player of the tournament). Claudia Pina, of the all-conquering Barcelona side of recent times, won it last in 2018. Other previous golden ball winners include Lyon and France centre-back Griedge Bathy (4-time winner of the Champions League).

Previous golden shoe winners (for top-scorer) include former Bathy's former teammate, Germany's Dzsenifer Marozsan and current Manchester City and Spain forward Deyna Castellanos.