PKL 8 auction: Pardeep Narwal bought for 1.65 crore by UP Yoddha, becomes highest-bid player

After five seasons with Patna Pirates, Pardeep Narwal (in yellow and green) will ply his trade with UP Yoddha in PKL Season 8. Pro Kabaddi League

Pardeep Narwal, the highest-scoring raider in the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL), became the highest-ever bought player in the history of the league, after being bought by UP Yoddha for Rs. 1.65 crore on Monday.

UP bought Narwal on the second day of the auction for Season 8 of the PKL, which will take place in December.

"Pardeep continues to re-write history books, with his price tag now quashing that of another star raider Monu Goyat, who was bought by the 'Haryana Steelers' for Rs 1.51 crore in Season 6," stated a media release issued by the PKL late Monday night. Narwal now finds himself a new home after spending five seasons with the Patna Pirates.

Meanwhile, Siddharth Desai was retained by the Telugu Titans via the Final Bid Match (FBM) card for Rs. 1.30 crore from his base price of Rs. 30 lakh.

More than 22 overseas players were sold on the second day.

All-rounder Mohammadreza Shadloui Chiyaneh (base price Rs. 10 lakh) was sold to the Pirates for Rs. 31 lakh, while the Bengal Warriors bought defender Abozar Mohajermighani, bidding for him at Rs. 30.5 lakh from the base price of Rs. 20 lakh.

The Pirates used their FBM card to retain South Korean raider Jang Kun Lee at Rs. 20.5 lakh, the release said.

After spending six seasons with the Titans and one season with Tamil Thalaivas, Rahul Chaudhari will now play for the Puneri Paltan. The Jaipur Pink Panthers used both their FBM cards to retain captain Deepak Niwas Hooda and Sandeep Kumar Dhull.

The Thalaivas bid for raider Manjeet from his base price of Rs. 30 lakh and bought him for Rs. 92 lakh.

Meanwhile, all-rounder Rohit Gulia grabbed eyeballs after he was sold to the Haryana Steelers for Rs. 83 lakh, a significant jump from his Rs. 25-lakh price tag with the Gujarat Fortunegiants in Season 7.

Top five Indian players:

Pardeep Narwal - Rs. 1.65 crore -- UP Yoddha

Siddharth Desai - Rs. 1.30 crore -- Telugu Titans

Manjeet - Rs. 92 lakh -- Tamil Thalaivas

Sachin Tanwar - Rs. 84 lakh -- Patna Pirates

Rohit Gulia - Rs. 83 lakh -- Haryana Steelers.