Nikhat Zareen, Lovlina Borgohain, Nitu and Jaismine seal CWG berths

Final squad for CWG: Jaismine (60kg), Nitu (48kg), Nikhat (50kg) and Lovlina (70kg). BFI

Reigning world champion Nikhat Zareen and Olympic bronze medallist Lovlina Borgohain on Saturday sealed their berths in the Indian team for the Commonwealth Games with dominating wins in the selection trials at New Delhi.

While Nikhat, the two-time Strandja Memorial gold medallist, defeated Haryana's Minakshi via a 7-0 unanimous decision, Lovlina outclassed Railways Pooja by an identical margin.

Nitu (48kg) and Jaismine (60kg) were the others boxers who also sealed spots for the quadrennial event.

Nikhat looked in control throughout her bout, landing clear punches as she danced around the ring.

A two-time former youth world champion, Nitu managed a 5-2 split decision win over 2019 silver medallist Manju Rani. The boxer from Haryana is enjoying a good year. She had won the gold at the Strandja Memorial tournament earlier this year.

Jaismine, the 2021 Asian youth boxing Championship bronze medallist, out-punched 2022 world championship bronze medallist Parveen Hooda in a fast-paced light-middleweight final.

On Friday, MC Mary Kom's bid to compete at the Commonwealth Games ended in a heartbreak as she was forced to withdraw from the selection trials due to a knee injury.

The six-time world champion twisted her left knee in the first few minutes in the opening round of the 48kg semifinals against Nitu.

"I was training so hard for this. This is just bad luck, I have never had a knee injury before," a distraught Mary Kom said.

"It is really unfortunate what happened. But one can never predict such things. Mary had been training hard for this," national coach Bhaskar Bhatt told PTI.

The men's team consist of Amit Panghal (51 kg), Mohammad Hussamuddin (57 kg), Shiva Thapa (63.5 kg), Rohit Tokas (67 kg), Sumit (75 kg), Ashish Kumar (80 kg), Sanjeet (92 kg) and Sagar (92+ kg).

The CWG is set to be held in Birmingham from July 28 to August 8.