Ireland's Sexton, Murray ruled out of France clash with Gibson Park, Burns called in

Billy Burns came on as a substitute in the second half against Wales on Sunday and had a difficult game. Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images

Billy Burns and Jamison Gibson Park have replaced the injured Johnny Sexton and Conor Murray for Ireland's Six Nations clash with France on Sunday at the Aviva in Dublin.

Ulster's Iain Henderson will captain the side for the first time and will be joined by Tadhg Beirne in the second-row.

- Play ESPN's Rugby Pick'em for FREE

"Iain brings authority and calmness. That was one of the pleasing things about last week, there was a calmness about the leadership group," Farrell told reporters on Friday.

"I'm sure he'll lead the team very well.

"We've lost some experience, but one man's misfortune is another's opportunity."

Both Sexton and James Ryan were ruled out of the game after failing return to play protocols during the week while Murray picked up a hamstring strain in training.

Burns earns just his fifth cap for the side after making a costly error in the final seconds in Cardiff when he attempted to kick for an attacking lineout five metres out, but booted the penalty too long.

The front-row remains the same from the one that started the Wales defeat with Cian Healy, Rob Herring and Andrew Porter lining out.

Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander are joined by Rhys Ruddock in the back-row.

Ruddock replaces Peter O'Mahony who is serving a three-match suspension for the red card he received against Wales.

For Ruddock, whose father Mike coached Wales to a Grand Slam in 2005, it means a first Six Nations start more than a decade after making his test debut at the age of 19 and having since captained his country on a number of occasions.

The 30-year-old has been unlucky with injury and years of intense back-row competition at club and country but is playing some of best rugby of his career, having won Leinster's player of the month for three successive months to December.

The back three is also unchanged with Hugo Keenan at full-back, supported by Keith Earls and James Lowe.

Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose complete the team in the centre.

Information from Reuters contributed to this report.

Ireland team

Hugo Keenan, Keith Earls, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe, Billy Burns, Jamison Gibson Park, Cian Healy, Rob Herring, Andrew Porter, Tadhg Beirne, Iain Henderson (captain), Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Ronan Kelleher, Ed Byrne, Tadhg Furlong, Ultan Dillane, Will Connors, Craig Casey, Ross Byrne, Jordan Larmour.