Liverpool beat Chelsea on penalties to win FA Cup, keep quadruple hopes alive


Konstantinos Tsimikas secures FA Cup trophy for Liverpool

Konstantinos Tsimikas strikes true from the spot in penalties to seal Liverpool's win over Chelsea in the FA Cup final.

Liverpool kept their hopes of winning the quadruple alive with a 6-5 penalty shootout victory over Chelsea in the FA Cup final at Wembley Stadium on Saturday.

Cesar Azpilicueta missed and Mason Mount saw his spot kick saved for Chelsea as Kostas Tsimikas scored the decisive penalty.

- Ogden: Can Liverpool shake off fatigue to win two more trophies this season?

Klopp: Salah, Van Dijk injuries 'kind of OK'

- ESPN+ viewers guide: Stream LIVE games, replays, more (U.S.)

The sides, meeting in a second domestic cup final this season, played an entertaining, scoreless draw over 120 minutes before deciding it on penalties.

It was a carbon copy of the League Cup final in February, which Liverpool won 11-10 on penalties after that game also finished goalless.

Saturday's win means Liverpool remain on course for an unprecedented Quadruple of trophies.

They are three points behind Manchester City in the Premier League race with two games to go and meet Real Madrid in the Champions League final on May 28.

"I'm really proud of my boys," Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp told the BBC. "Chelsea were outstanding, but in the end there can only be one winner and today it was us."

For Chelsea, it meant an unwelcome record of becoming the first side to lose three FA Cup finals in a row, after losing to Arsenal in 2020 and Leicester City last year.

Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson lifts the FA Cup after beating Chelsea in Saturday's final.
Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson lifts the FA Cup after beating Chelsea in Saturday's final.
Getty Images

Liverpool were on top early with Luis Diaz a particular threat. A through-ball from Trent Alexander-Arnold put Diaz through on goal in the eighth minute, but Edouard Mendy denied him before Naby Keita put the rebound wide.

Chelsea responded well to Liverpool's pressure, with Christian Pulisic going close on 23 minutes after excellent play between Mount and Reece James on the right wing. Shortly after, Pulisic's pass gave Marcos Alonso a sight of goal, but Alisson was off his line quickly to deny the Chelsea defender.

On 33 minutes, Liverpool suffered a blow when Mohamed Salah was forced off due to injury. Diogo Jota came on in his place and put a good chance just over moments before half-time.

Chelsea made the faster start after the break with Pulisic drawing a save from Alisson and Alonso striking the crossbar from a free kick, but both sides toiled and could create only half-chances for much of the second period.

Liverpool had a golden chance to win the trophy in normal time when substitute James Milner's cross found Andy Robertson, but he struck the post from close range.

Liverpool were dealt another blow ahead of extra time as Virgil van Dijk went off, seemingly injured, and was replaced by Joel Matip.

Neither side were able to find a breakthrough in the additional 30 minutes, meaning spot kicks for the second time this season.

Mendy had kept Chelsea alive when he saved Sadio Mane's penalty, but it proved to no avail, as Liverpool won the trophy for the first time since 2006.

Sadly for Chelsea, as in February, it was a case of so near yet so far, although manager Thomas Tuchel had no regrets.

"Like in the last final, the League Cup, no regrets. I told the team I was proud," he told reporters. "We played 240 minutes in two finals against maybe the most dangerous attacking team in the world and it's 0-0.

"I was sure during the match the momentum was on our side, but unfortunately I was not right."

Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson was handed the cup by Prince William to roars from the Liverpool fans, while the Chelsea end was largely empty.

"It's a big moment for us -- we haven't been in this final for some time, so to win it was special," Henderson said.

The win was Liverpool's eighth in the 150-year history of the FA Cup, drawing them level with Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur. Arsenal have won the most with 14.

Information from Reuters was used in this report.